San Francisco Film Critics Circle Announces Its Movie Awards for 2012



Twenty-five voting members of the San Francisco Film Critics Circle met Sunday afternoon at the Variety Club Screening Room on SF’s Market Street to inform you what movies you shouldn’t have missed this year after all.

Typically for the SFFCC, no one film swept the awards. Paul Thomas Anderson’s The Master captured Best Picture honors, and that movie’s Joaquin Phoenix was named Best Actor. The upcoming release Zero Dark Thirty took Best Director plaudits for Kathryn Bigelow, with Best Original Screenplay going to Mark Boal.

The Master
  • The Master
Steven Spielberg’s Lincoln walked away with Best Adapted Screenplay for Tony Kushner, as well as Best Supporting Actor for Tommy Lee Jones. Best Actress went to Emmanuelle Riva in Michael Haneke’s Amour, one of five movies to garner multiple awards. Amour also came first in the Best Foreign Language Film category.

Helen Hunt was honored as Best Supporting Actress for The Sessions. Paranorman was recognized as Best Animated Feature. The Waiting Room, a cinema-verité look at the ER of Oakland’s Highland Hospital, won the Best Documentary award. Best Cinematography: Claudio Miranda for Life of Pi. Best Production Design: Adam Stockhausen for Moonrise Kingdom. Best Film Editing: William Goldenberg for Argo.

A Special Citation was awarded to Girl Walk/All Day, a musical mashup dance movie by Jacob Krupnick. The annual Marlon Riggs Award, presented to acknowledge courage and innovation in cinematic endeavor, went to Peter Nicks, director of The Waiting Room.