Classical & Opera

Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra Presents "A Classic Triple"

When: Sat., Nov. 15, 8 p.m. and Sun., Nov. 16, 7:30 p.m. 2008

It's a night of triple delights. Our own Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra, under the superb leadership of Nicholas McGegan, has prepared a delicious period instrument program. First on the bill is Beethoven's great Triple Concerto. Featuring violinist Colin Jacobsen and violoncellist Tanya Tomkins on gut stringed instruments, along with fortepianist Eric Zivian, PBO will enable us to enjoy the sonorities and pitch Beethoven heard in his head as he composed. Two more works fill out the triple bill, Haydn's Symphony No. 88 in G major, and Mozart's Symphony No. 35 in D major, "Haffner." At First Congregational Church (2345 Channing Way, Berkeley) on Saturday, Nov. 15, 8 p.m., and Sunday, Nov. 16, 7:30 p.m. $30-$ or 510-392-4400.

Jason Victor Serinus

Price: $30-$72, student rush $10

Add a review


Select a star to rate.

Anonymous and pseudonymous comments will be removed.