Perata and Schaaf Lead, Kernighan and Brooks Win



Ex-state Senator Don Perata has a solid lead in the Oakland mayor's race, garnering 35 percent of the vote. Councilwoman Jean Quan is second with 24 percent, followed by Councilwoman Rebecca Kaplan in third with 21 percent. The county registrar reports that 100% of precincts are in, but there are still thousands of late absentees and provisionals to count. The registrar plans to update results through the end of the week, and then run an unofficial count of ranked choice voting, tabulating second- and third-place choices, on Friday afternoon. Final results, however, may not be known until next week.

Ranked choice voting also will come into play in the contest to replace Quan on the council. Libby Schaaf leads in that District 4 race with 42 percent, followed by Jill Broadhurst with 22%. Both Daniel Swafford and Melanie Shelby have 11%.

But Councilwomen Pat Kernighan and Desley Brooks have won reelection easily. Kernighan grabbed 67% of the vote in District 2 and Brooks took 65% in District 6. Auditor Courtney Ruby also won reelection in a landslide, taking 67 percent of the vote.

As for the city tax measures, Measure V, the medical cannabis tax, won big, 70 to 30 percent. Measure W, the phone tax, also won lost 57 to 43 percent. And Measure BB, the so-called Measure Y fix, appears to have won, 70 to 30 percent (it needs 66.7% to pass). But Measure X, the huge parcel tax for cops, got clobbered, 28 to 72 percent.

In the only contested Oakland school board race, Gary Yee easily won reelection in District 4, taking 69% of the vote. But Measure L, the schools parcel tax, appears to be falling short in a close race. It needs 66.7% to pass, but has 65.2%.