Classical & Opera

New Century Chamber Orchestra

When: Sat., Sept. 13, 8 p.m. 2008

Thursday marks violinist Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg's first official gig as music director of the seventeen-member New Century Chamber Orchestra string ensemble. Hopes are high, as Salerno-Sonnenberg performs as soloist in Astor Piazzolla's "Four Seasons of Buenos Aires" and Alberto Ginastera's "Glosses on Themes of Pablo Casals." Also on the colorful program, entitled "The Sounds of Brazil & Argentina," are the world premiere of NCCO Featured Composer Clarice Assad's "Impressions, Suite for Chamber Orchestra," and Assad's arrangement of Heitor Villa-Lobos' beloved "BachianasBrasileiras No. 5." At First Congregational Church (2345 Channing Way, Berkeley) on Thursday, Sept. 11. 8 p.m., $32-$54, $16 for thirty and under. or 415-357-1111.

Jason Victor Serinus

Price: $32-$52, under 30 $16-$26

Add a review


Select a star to rate.

Anonymous and pseudonymous comments will be removed.