Soul, Funk, R&B, & Hip-Hop

Let us Break Bread Together with the Music of Aretha Franklin

When: Sun., Dec. 15, 4 p.m. 2019

Michael Morgan, Conductor and Music Director of the Oakland Symphony, pays tribute to musical icon Aretha Franklin, who passed away in August 2018. In order to capture the serenity and soul that was the historic songstress, the Oakland Symphony has collaborated with musicians and singers from outside the realms of classical music, including singer Tiffany Austin, Jazz Mafia, The Oakland Interfaith Gospel Choir, a capella group Vocal Rush, and several more. The program promises to capture Franklin’s hits like “(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman,” and of course, “Respect,” while delving deeper into her vast catalog with “Ain’t Nobody (Gonna Turn Me Around)” and “Spanish Harlem.” All signs point to this being a fitting tribute to a woman who changed how we hear music forever.

D. Scot Miller

Price: $15-$25

Add a review


Select a star to rate.

Anonymous and pseudonymous comments will be removed.