Express Wins Seven National Awards at AAN 2016


We interrupt your Monday morning for some navel-gazing and back-patting.

The Association of Alternative Newsmedia is a group that counts more than 113 weekly or "alt" papers and websites from all over the country as members. Each year, AAN convenes for a gathering of journalism training, secret-sharing — and dranks. That convention was this past weekend in Austin, Texas, and it culminated with its annual award ceremony.

More than 821 entries were submitted to AAN this year. The Philip Merrill College of Journalism at the University of Maryland judge everything from news features to front-cover designs. And the Express writers walked away with seven prizes this year, including:

First place for Arts Criticism to managing editor Sarah Burke.

First place for Arts Feature to contributor Sam Lefebvre.

First place for Political Column to former editor Robert Gammon.

Second place for Food Writing to food editor Luke Tsai.

Third place for Photography to former staff photographer Bert Johnson.

Third place for Feature Story to former staff writer Sam Levin.

And second place for Freedom of Information reporting to editor Nick Miller (for his work at his former paper, the Sacramento News & Review).

Congrats to all the winners. (Now, back to work!)