Express Takes Home Eight Bay Area Journalism Awards


The Express won eight nine* awards, three of which were first place, in the San Francisco Peninsula Press Club’s Greater Bay Area Journalism Awards, the winners of which were announced at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Foster City on Saturday, May 19.

The paper won first place among non-daily papers for general excellence, which covers all aspects of the paper’s design and content. Elsewhere in the non-dailies division, co-editor Robert Gammon took top honors for news columns for Full Disclosure, and freelancer Kibby Kleiman won first in the sports story category for “The Road Less Traveled,” his feature-length profile of Oakland bicyclist Beth Newell. Art Director Brian Kelly took home second place for page design for his cover art associated with the September 21 feature, “How Peet’s Starbucked Itself.” That story, written by staff writer/web editor Ellen Cushing and concerning shifting corporate culture at the beloved East Bay coffee chain, also won second place among feature stories of a serious nature. “Hate Man,” a profile of the titular Berkeley fixture written by co-editor Kathleen Richards and freelancer Sandeep Abraham, won another second-place award on the other side of that coin, for feature story of a light nature. In the Entertainment category, Swan won second place for "Kind of Blue," her cover story on the Bay Area jazz scene.Finally, music editor Rachel Swan’s “Culture Spy” won third in the feature columns division, and Cushing’s “Trashed” won third in the news story division.

Because the East Bay Press Club has ceased holding awards dinners, the Peninsula Press Club contest has come to be the Bay Area’s primary journalism competition, covering papers from eleven counties in the East, South, and North Bay, as well as San Francisco proper. This year, the San Jose Mercury News won the most awards, with 26; among non-daily newspapers, Palo Alto Weekly took home the most plaques, ten, followed by the Express with nine. According to the press club, this year’s awards were selected from 440 entries, and were judged by press clubs in Bakersfield, Cleveland, Florida, Milwaukee, San Diego, and New Orleans.

Correction, 5/23: Because of an error, the Press Club awarded — but failed to present at the dinner — the winners in the Entertainment category. This release has been updated to reflect that.