Classical & Opera

California Symphony

When: Tue., May 4, 7:30 p.m. 2010

As the culmination of Mason Bates' three-year residency as sixth Young American Composer-in-Residence of the California Symphony, conductor Barry Jekowsky presents the world premiere of Bates' Silicon Blues. Departing from his frequent penchant for electronica, the composer ditches writing for computer in favor of all acoustic instruments and a typewriter. The program also includes Beethoven's Symphony No. 5 and the Bay Area debut of fourteen-year-old multi-instrument virtuoso Sarina Zhang performing both Liszt's Piano Concerto No. 1 in E flat and Tchaikovsky's Pezzo Capriccioso for Cello and Orchestra.At Lesher Center for the Arts (1601 Civic Dr., Walnut Creek) on Sunday, May 2, 4 pm., and Tuesday, May 4, 7:30 p.m. $44-$64, $20 for students. 925-943-SHOW or

Jason Victor Serinus

Price: $44-$64, $20 for students

Add a review


Select a star to rate.

Anonymous and pseudonymous comments will be removed.