This is a past event.

Berkeley Symphony concert, featuring pianist Sarah Cahill, explores hidden musical gem 

Thu., Dec. 8 2011
"A celebration worth attending" -San Francisco Classical Voice

Berkeley Symphony and acclaimed Bay Area pianist Sarah Cahill give a rare performance of Lou Harrison's Piano Concerto. Written for jazz pianist Keith Jarrett in 1983, this gorgeous work promises to pique your imagination with sounds evoking the Indonesian gamelan and medieval melodies. Also on the evening's program is Sibelius's Symphony No. 5, which premiered in 1915 to mark the composer's 50th birthday. This jubilant work is paired with Chinese composer Lei Liang's tender and refreshing piece Verge for strings. Guest conductor Jayce Ogren leads the orchestra on this night filled with music of commemoration!

Click here to watch a preview of the Piano Concerto with Sarah Cahill.

Tickets start at $20. For more information, visit www.berkeleysymphony.org, or call (510) 841-2800.


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review

Roll over stars and click to rate.

Anonymous and pseudonymous comments will be removed.




Submit an event

Most Popular Stories

© 2018 East Bay Express    All Rights Reserved
Powered by Foundation