Theater

4.48 Psychosis

When: Fri., July 20, 8-10 p.m., Sat., July 21, 8-10 p.m., Sun., July 22, 7-9 p.m., Fri., July 27, 8-10 p.m., Sat., July 28, 8-10 p.m., Sun., July 29, 7-9 p.m., Thu., Aug. 2, 8-10 p.m., Fri., Aug. 3, 8-10 p.m., Sat., Aug. 4, 8-10 p.m. and Sun., Aug. 5, 7-9 p.m. 2018

English playwright Sarah Kane was well-known for her controversial, emotional plays, which often left critics and audiences wondering what Kane was thinking when she wrote her works. Her final piece answered that very question. Kane’s stream-of-consciousness notes — compiled shortly after her suicide in 1999 — make up the loose vignettes of 4.48 Psychosis. The structure-free text is brought to vivid life by Anton’s Well Theatre Company, with three women (Anastasia Barron, Jody Christian, and Adrian Deane) merging the playwright’s dialogue with energetic choreography to personify different aspects of Kane’s fragile psyche. The black box setting of the Temescal stage, aided by atmospheric lighting and sound, results in the audience feeling equally trapped within Kane’s troubled mind. The result is a haunting meditation on depression, mental illness, sexual frustration, and the fleeting nature of mortality — all told by someone intimately acquainted with each topic. Rob Estes directs, with choreography by Bridgette Loriaux. (Be advised that this production uses flashing strobe lights.)

Editor's Note: A previous version misstated that the playwright committed suicide in 1991. The date has been corrected.

Charles Lewis

Price: $17-$20

Add a review

Rating

Select a star to rate.

Anonymous and pseudonymous comments will be removed.