by David Downs
Northern California's new Cannabis Law Institute has become the first cannabis law education group to be certified by the California State Bar as a "Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) Multiple Activity Provider" and is authorized to offer official California MCLE credit for legal education activities. Only a handful of spots are left in their first 75-person seminar June 5, to be held at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country for $420 a head. CLI co-founder and noted San Francisco medical cannabis defense attorney Omar Figueroa said another seminar is planned for Los Angeles October 30th, followed by one in San Francisco. Medical cannabis law in California is undergoing rapid transformation, Figueroa says, with new precedent being set daily. "[State Bar approval] was surprisingly easy. They've been fantastically cooperative. the writing is on the wall," he says. "The fact that they issued the certification with our name I think signals a cultural change. The taboo against marijuana or even the concept is eroding quickly." Figueroa said nationwide classes are next for CLI. See more events after the jump:
Oaksterdam's 11,000 alumni and students are invited to the University June 4 for a private "Joke & Toke Comedy Night with the Marijuana-Logues featuring Rob Cantrell, Tony Camin, & Dan Gabriel". Two shows at 6 p.m. and 9 p.m. Tickets are $50 premium seating and $30 general, $150 VIP table.
A bill that would imprison cancer patients growing pot in their closet because they live near a school is up for debate in Sacramento today. AB 2650 author Assemblymember Joan Buchanan (D-Alamo) is in a highly contested reelection race, and insiders say she's trying to shore up cop support by looking tough on pot. Buchanan's bill is couched as a way to keep cannabis away from kids, and was pitched as a statewide ban of dispensaries within 1,000 feet of pretty much anything. But it's had a bumpy ride this Spring. Overly broad, it was delayed and modified to prohibit growing and dispensing within 600 feet of schools. But growers note the bill would still persecute caretakers growing a few buds for a friend in their basement. The bill could be modified again today to exempt growers and limit just dispensaries with a visible storefront from being within 600 feet of schools. Local regulations already contain such limits, though. Adding to state budget woes, the bill as it stands also ensures extra costs of possibly millions of dollars from the state general fund as caretakers certified under AB 420 file suit for being found in violation of Buchanan's new bill should it become law.